In Ohio, what is often called driving under the influence (DUI) in other states is referred to as operating a vehicle impaired (OVI). The consequences of an OVI in Ohio depend largely on whether it is your first offense or whether you have been caught driving under the influence of alcohol multiple times in the past.
The consequences of an OVI in Ohio
If you are being charged with an OVI for the first time, it is likely that you will be charged with a misdemeanor. You may face between 2 days to 6 months in jail and be forced to pay up to $1,075 as a fine. You may also be subject to a drivers' license suspension for up to 3 years.
The consequences become gradually more severe after each offense, the most serious of which being a fourth or any subsequent offenses, which could lead to up to 5 years in jail and a $10,500 fine.
Preventing OVIs through ignition interlock devices
Many people become multiple offenders of OVIs. Maybe they have a couple of drinks and do not believe that they are over the limit, or they become less able to control their impulses when they are drunk and as a result make dangerous choices, such as operating a vehicle. A great way to prevent this is by installing an ignition interlock device in a vehicle, which requires that he driver test his or her blood alcohol percentage and establish that the driver is within the legal limit before being able to start the vehicle.
Driving under the influence can have dangerous and life-impacting consequences. Committing to using an ignition interlock device could have beneficial legal consequences in the long term.
Source: Guardian Interlock, "Ohio State Law," accessed Nov. 24, 2017